Joint statement of Prominent German Figures: Relocation of PMOI Members a Great victory for Iranian Resistance


In a joint statement, a number of prominent German figures have praised the relocation of People’s Mojahedin Organization of Iran (PMOI or MEK) members from Camp Liberty in Iraq to Europe, as reported today, September 16, by the National Council of Resistance of Iran (NCRI).  They called the move a “great achievement for Iranian resistance”, and congratulated Mrs. Maryam Rajavi and all members and supporters of PMOI (MEK).

Excerpts from this statement are as follows:

“The relocation of Iranian opposition members from Iraq was successfully carried out. Thus, a long-term concern turned into a great joy for all those who never lost their hope and continued to resist by standing on their positions and providing aid measures.

Following the US invasion of Iraq, the Iranian regime repeatedly attempted to eradicate PMOI (MEK). Three massacres in Camp Ashraf, five missile attacks to Camp Liberty, and an 8-year-old siege took lives of 168 of these opponents.

“The Iranian regime has in no time been happy about the withdrawal of PMOI (MEK) members from Iraq and it is essential that Mrs. Maryam Rajavi be extremely praised as she tirelessly led this relocation process with great effort and promoted it to the level of a global humanitarian movement.

“Many prominent figures from Germany, Europe, America and the Arab world supported Mrs. Rajavi in her initiative. This solidarity and cooperation, turned into an unbelievable political protection shield for relocating PMOI (MEK) members.

“The main portion of this success belongs to the very own members and numerous fans of the PMOI (MEK).

“Our efforts and humanitarian aids should and will continue while PMOI (MEK) members are more motivated than ever to achieve their main goal, namely a free and democratic Iran.”


• Prof. Dr. Rita Süssmuth, former President of German Bundestag

•Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger, former Minister of Justice

•Gerhart Baum, former German Federal Minister of the Interior

•Prof. Horst Teltschik, National Security Advisor to Chancellor Helmut Kohl and former Leader of Munich Security Conference

•Altbischof Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Huber, former President of German Protestant Council

•Otto Bernhardt, – Board member of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation and Former. Financial spokesman of the CDU / CSU parliamentary group

•Martin Patzelt (MP)

•Kordula Kovac (MP)

•Heribert Scharrenbroich, former deputy minister

•Klaus Bresser, langjähriger former editor in chief ZDF

•Leo Dautzenberg, Former financial spokesman of the CDU / CSU parliamentary group

•Wolfgang Holzapfel, Chairman of the”17 June 1953” humanitarian association.

•Christian Zimmermann, Head of the Office for Human Rights and Minorities Affairs in Berlin